Paléo 2018 Nicolas Patault
Colonnes romaines © Didier Jordan
Lake Geneva Museum © François Bertin / www.fbertin-photographie.ch
CGN © Bertrand Francey
Le Château de Nyon © Olivier Gisiger
 chateau_nyon© Olivier Gisiger_swissimages.com
Ville de Nyon ©Olivier Gisiger

Nyon - Town of history and festivals

Located between Lake Geneva, the La Côte AOC vineyard and the Jura hills, Nyon is famous for its festivals, its history and its business tourism.

Nyon is a charming town with a cosy atmosphere. The town is surrounded by Lake Geneva, the vineyard La Côte AOC and the Jura mountain. Festive events are part of the way of life in Nyon : during 6 days in July, 230'000 visitors crowd at the Paléo Music Festival. Others get together for "Les Hivernales", or the film festival "Visions du Réel", "Caribana" music festival, Rive Jazzy or the "Far" (living arts festival).

The castle of Prangins and the National Swiss Museum, the castle of Coppet, the castle in Nyon and its Historical and Porcelain Museum witness a patrician history. The Roman Museum explains the story of Noviodonum, the ancient name of Nyon that was founded by Julius Caesar.
At the Lake Leman Museum you will discover a link to the comic strips hero named Tintin, who investigates the traces of Professor Calculus in the city of Nyon. The story of "Auguste Piccard", famous Swiss scientist and adventurer who inspired Calculus, is also part of the exhibition.

The city meets the countryside and mountains thanks to the Nyon-St-Cergue-La Cure red train, which brings you to the heart of nature and beautiful hikes.

To see, do, experience…

La Côte Pass

Paléo 2018 Nicolas Patault
Colonnes romaines © Didier Jordan
Musée du Léman © François Bertin / www.fbertin-photographie.ch
CGN © Bertrand Francey
Le Château de Nyon © Olivier Gisiger
 chateau_nyon© Olivier Gisiger_swissimages.com
Ville de Nyon ©Olivier Gisiger

Nyon, ville d'histoire et de festivals

Entre le lac Léman, le vignoble de La Côte AOC, et le Jura, la ville de Nyon est connue pour ses festivals, son histoire et son tourisme d’affaires.

Ville où il fait bon vivre, Nyon est entourée du lac Léman, du vignoble de La Côte AOC et du Jura. Les événements font partie de l’art de vivre nyonnais : en juillet, 230'000 personnes vivent 6 jours de concerts au Paléo Festival. D’autres festivaliers se réunissent pour les Hivernales, Visions du Réel, le Caribana, Rive Jazzy ou encore le far° (festival des arts vivants).

Les châteaux et musées de Nyon évoquent une histoire patricienne : D’une rare influence franco-bernoise, le Château de Nyon qui abrite le Musée historique et des porcelaines est bien entouré dans la région avec le Château de Prangins (Musée national suisse) et le Château de Coppet. Quant au lointain passé de Noviodunum, fondée par Jules César, il est raconté au Musée romain.

L’histoire d’Auguste Piccard, le scientifique qui a inspiré Tournesol, est à découvrir au Musée du Léman de Nyon. La ville est mise en valeur dans l’ « Affaire Tournesol », lorsque Tintin, héros de bande dessinée, enquête à Nyon à la recherche du professeur Tournesol.

Grâce au chemin de fer Nyon – St-Cergue – La Cure, la ville rejoint la campagne et les montagnes pour des escapades en pleine nature.

7157

21619